Driving with Suspended and Revoked Licenses in North Carolina

Balancing the Scales of Justice

Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license in North Carolina can be costly and time consuming. Not only that, most driver’s license suspensions will cause a dramatic spike in insurance costs. Your driving privilege is something you rely on every day. We all take this privilege for granted – until the privilege is lost.

In North Carolina, a license suspension or revocation can be ordered for:

  • Point Accumulation: If you accumulate twelve or more points in 3 years carries the potential of license suspension for up to 60 days. And, after this suspension, the amount of points you can accumulate in a 3 year period is cut by 1/3, while the period of suspension is increased three-fold (eight points in 3 years and a suspension of six months).
  • Refusing a breath test: Refusing a breath test, regardless if you’re sober, is treated as an admission of guilt and results in a one-year suspension. In every state in the US, a driver with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 (or higher) is presumed to be legally intoxicated for drunk-driving purposes. Each state has also enacted an implied-consent law. Implied-consent laws provide that every licensed driver within the state is considered to have given his or her consent to chemical testing to determine his or her BAC whenever a law enforcement officer has reasonable suspicion of intoxication. In most states, refusal to submit to such a test results in license suspension or revocation, even if you are not intoxicated.
  • DWI / DUI / Drunk Driving: You’ll lose your license for one year as a first time offender, and be saddled with fines, possible jail time, and 24 hours of community service. If you get arrested a second time within three years of your first DWI, you’ll lose your license for four years.
  • Reckless Driving: Getting charged twice in a single year for reckless driving will lead to a one-year suspension.
  • Prearranged Racing: The court will strip you of your driving privileges for three years if convicted of a planned race on a public highway. This penalty also applies to race observers and betters.
  • Liability Insurance: Prolonged or repeated lapses in your liability insurance coverage will cost you financially. You have 10 days, after being notified to pay the fines. Failing to respond within this time frame will result in a 30-day suspension.
  • Providing False Information: You will lose your driving privileges for one year if the DMV discovers you provided false information on your license application.

Facing a criminal charge for driving while your license is suspended is a frightening and serious prospect. Not only do you face criminal prosecution, but you could loose your ability to drive for years. The effect this can have on your life is like falling dominos. Tony Rollman can help. He has handled many DWLR cases. His goal is to defend your right to drive, and to help avoid a lifelong criminal mark on your record.